When I come back in my next life I want to be someone in the WTA because they ride on the coattails of the men.They don’t make any decisions and they are lucky. They are very, very lucky. If I was a lady player, I’d go down every night on my knees and thank God that Roger Federer and Rafa Nadal were born, because they have carried this sport.

These comments from the CEO of Indian Wells Tennis Garden, Raymond Moore were made after the women’s 2016 BNP Paribas Open final between Williams and Azarenka, where Vika won the American in straight sets. Moore’s statement was offensive and sexist and caused a lot dispute among the tennis world. It resurfaced once again the issue of sexism in tennis and the inequality that exists between the two sexes.

Countless of tennis champions went ahead and responded to Moore’s comment. Victoria Azarenka, former No. 1 champion, noted that this statement was inaccurate and  that there are many women on the tour that are worth watching.

tumblr_myvz9nxzwp1s5lshxo1_500
Serena Williams and Victoria Azarenka on the 2014 Brisbane International tournament – via TUMBLR

On the men’s side Andy Murray, currently No 1 world said that the timing of Moore’s comment was so strange. It followed an amazing and thrilling women’s final where you were at the edge of your seat every single second.There where over 16000 spectators watching the match and a couple of millions watching it from TV. How can he say such things after such an extraordinary fight? I remember watching the match and thinking that it was the best match I have ever seen, not only in women’s matches but in men’s as well. Andy continued by saying, “I think there should be equal pay, 100%.”

Serena Williamsin response to Raymond Moore’s offensive statement said that no one should be getting on their knees. She, like Azarenka, pointed out that there are several women out there that deserve everyone’s attention with bright futures ahead of them.

“Last year the women’s final at the US Open sold out well before the men. I’m sorry, did Roger play in that final or Rafa or any man play in a final that was sold out before the men’s final? I think not.” Serena Williams said.

